Marryourdaughter.com is a hoax (no, really?)
While the internet savvy have largely seen through the site as a hoax, apparently a lot of people have gotten up in arms about the site during its two weeks of existence. The creator gets over 1000 emails a day from people outraged at the site. He was kind of egging them on though. Not only did site creator John Ordover not tell anyone the site was a fake, he posed as a spokesperson for the service and went on the talk show circuit before coming clean.
He says his goal was to raise awareness of the ridiculous state of marriage laws in the US. Ordover's no stranger to controversy. He was co-creator of Technical Virgin, a website that got a lot of attention in 2000 and lost actress Melanie Martinez her job 7 years later.
Ordover's latest site has apparently been hammered so hard by traffic that it's down right now, but you can still read the ads using Google's cache.




Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
gr said 12:14AM on 9-13-2007
Actually, marryourdaughter is still up, at http://marryourdaughter.org. I guess he got more than one server =)
Reply
Detlev said 12:15AM on 9-13-2007
just noticed site is now accessible at http://www.marryourdaughter.org
Reply
mark said 12:04PM on 9-16-2007
Hey. An interesting factoid I uncovered.... the guy behind the site is a fairly prolific Star Trek writer. See http://www.rizzn.com/2007/09/marryourdaughtercom-dowries-and.asp
Reply